Hial unhappy over 'fake' website
18.02.08
Travellers to the Highlands are being confused by a fake Inverness Airport website, the Courier reports. A Norwich firm runs a website called www.invernessairport.com, which has nothing to do with the airport but looks official.
The site has timetables and ‘new routes’ from 3 years ago. A reader told the newspaper: ‘It appears with the message, 'Welcome to Inverness Airport' through internet search engines. I thought it was official. Countless passengers could be caught out.’
Mindcom Internet make cash from links from the website to travel insurance, car rental and holiday firms. But the website does not say it is unofficial. A company director, Christopher Lee, told the newspaper: ‘We have not set out to deceive people.’
However, Inverness Airport owners Highlands and Islands Airports (Hial) say that they may go to watchdogs ICANN, who can force cyber squatters to sell web addresses. Whether they would be successful, given the age of the website and the fact that they must have been aware of it for some time is open to question. It should say 'this is not the official website' though, and they might be able to get this added.
Add to: del.icio.us | Digg it | Newsvine | NowPublic | Reddit
To book airport hotels or airport parking at the lowest price, click on these links to two great airport parking and airport hotels price comparison websites.